Student Assistants

The Student Assistants here at Learning Support Services are not only the first point of contact many students have when contacting our office but also are the backbone to creating supplemental instruction services for UCSC undergraduates. You'll see our Student Assistants tabling around campus, at the front desk Zoom hours, or maybe you'll see them in your classes.



Maria Almeida; 4th Year; Human Biology; She/Her/Hers
Hey! I'm Maria, a 4th year human biology major! My hobbies include biking, hiking, listening to music, and binging my favorite shows! A fun fact about me is that I'm the only one in my family born in the US so I love visiting them in Peru!
Alison Fien; 3rd year; Ecology and Evolutionary Biology; She/Her/Hers
Hi, my name is Alison and I am a 3rd year Ecology & Evolutionary Biology major. This is my second year at LSS. In my free time, I enjoy going on hikes, reading, and drawing. I also love to collect new house plants and spend time with my pets when I go back home.




Tammy Ha; 3rd Year; Human Biology; She/Her/Hers
Hi, my name is Tammy! I am a third-year majoring in Human Biology. I was born and raised in San Francisco. During my free time, I enjoy hanging out with my friends and family, going to the beach, hiking, listening to music, trying new foods, and watching movies.



Shivani Modha; 4th Year; Sociology & Philosophy; She/Her/Hers
Hello all! I am a fourth year Sociology and Philosophy double major. I am also super passionate about research specifically involving decolonization, immigration, and incarcerated youth. My free time includes crochet, cooking, gardening, and my cat Arlo!



Oscar Orozco; 3rd Year; Sociology; They/Them
Hello! My name is Oscar, I am a third-year sociology student and I was also born in Mexico. I love playing tennis and I love learning about astronomy and botany. I love horror, thrillers, and sci-fi.



Jorge Osorio; 4th Year; Film and Digital Media w/ LALS Minor; He/Him/His
Hello, I'm Jorge Osorio. I'm a third-year FDM Major and LALS Minor. In my free time, I dance folklorico and watch a tonnn of movies. 



Monick Sanchez; 4th Year/2nd Year Transfer; Sociology & LALS w/ Education Minor; She/They
My name is Monick Sanchez and I am a third-year (first-year transfer) LALS/Sociology Major with an Education Minor. I am from Jurupa Valley a relatively small city at the edge of Riverside county. I enjoy doing many things in my free time such as cooking, riding my longboard around campus, going on hikes, and creating long playlists for my friends.
Maria Silva; 4th Year; Sociology; She/Her
My name is Maria and I am a fourth year majoring in Sociology :) In my free time I like to watch TV shows, spend time with friends, and listen to music. I look forward to graduating in the Spring!